(0093)702300-728 / info@bost.edu.af / international@bost.edu.af

Diploma in Nursing

Diploma in Nursing (3 Years)

Program structure:

The course comprises compulsory theory units and clinical practice (400 hours) which total 1450 hours. There are five clinical placements, which may include Aged Care, Acute Care, Subacute Care/Rehab, Mental Health, Palliative Care.
This qualification covers the application of nursing skills and knowledge required to be eligible for registration with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia in line with relevant state/territory nursing and midwifery regulatory authorities. The course is conducted face to face on campus.

Who should participate in this course?

This qualification is suitable for those wanting to start their career in the Nursing field. The course is suited to school leavers and mature aged students. This qualification is also suitable for those wanting a pathway to the Bachelor of Nursing and other higher education courses.

Professional Recognition

Upon successful completion of all coursework and professional experience/clinical placements, students will be awarded the Diploma of Nursing.

Graduates may apply for registration as an Enrolled Nurse with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA).
English Language Requirements for registration with AHPRA

Students, who have completed their secondary schooling in a non-English speaking country may have to sit an English test to acquire

Academic IELTS 7.0 in order to gain registration with AHPRA.
Eligibility/ Entry requirements/ Prerequisites
Program entry requirements: Year 12 or equivalent
Students require the literacy and numeracy skills to complete the course and to practice
competently as an enrolled nurse.
Students need to be 18 years of age by the first professional experience placement.
Not applicable.

Selection process:

Prospective students attend an interview and complete an entrance test which includes Language, Literacy & Numeracy (LLN) components.
Students must attain at-least ACSF level 4 as an entry level requirement. However, any students not meeting this requirement will be encouraged to enrol into the ACUcom Introduction to Nursing program, which consists of foundation level units that prepare students for entry into the Diploma of Nursing (Enrolled-Division 2 nursing).